Southern Hospitality Needed Up North

Definition of Southern Hospitality

The other day I heard this tragic story from my aunt who has this neighbor that she has lived next to for over 30 years. His granddaughter had just had a baby and she learned that her pesky sinus problem was actually a rare form of sinus cancer and they gave her two weeks to live. Could you even imagine?  I could not imagine going through this. The young woman is in her twenties.  Understandably the Grandparents quickly arranged to drive down there to see her and spend time with her.  While they were down there, they were surprised and touched by the amazing output of love, caring and major devotion of the local community.

A community of neighbors, friends, family who at various times of the  day, brought over home cooked meals to their Granddaughters home at:   Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and in between.  Not one day or two days but try every single day. Folks, this takes major effort and devotion.

Though a tragic story, it is inspiring to hear how people can pull together for a family.  I knew I wanted to do something like this for someone. Then the opportunity came a few weeks later. My neighbor recently had a baby by ceasarian. The day after returning home, she didn’t feel so great and thought it was something small and easily treatable like a bladder infection. As a nurse, she thought she would be out in 24 hours and back home with her family. She has now been in the hospital for about 7 days. She has a newborn at home, and a 2 year old who misses her mother and doesn’t understand what is going on. The husband is exhausted because he has to work all day and then the new baby is up all night. Her parents are trying to help.

Saturday chicken fryers were on sale at whole foods. You use Fryers to make incredible rich chicken stock. My plan was to make French Lentil soup from “The Best Recipe” book. This is the best recipe book EVER in my opinion. But when I got started, I changed my mind and decided to make a chicken soup for this family  and barefoot contessa muffins to take downstairs to my neighbors.  Barefoot Contessa Pumpkin Cupcakes for the little girl without the icing which I tried and found to be too much. The Dad was asleep that afternoon (exhausted)  and grandmother answered the door with the two year old Sophie–who is a adorable.  I just said they must be exhausted and too tired to cook daily, so I wanted to bring something over to make them feel better. It felt so good to do this. They were happy and seemed relieved to have someone think of them and I would too if I were in their position.

I hope everyone gets a chance this winter to show some Southern Hospitality for a family in need. If you can’t cook or don’t have the time, then you could give a donation to the Chicago Food Depository!  Thank you -Candice

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

